Lumaktaw sa pangunahing content


Kolb's Learning Styles

Kolb’s learning styles are defined by an individual’s relative preference for the four modes of the learning cycle described in experiential learning theory: Concrete Experience, Reflective Observation, Abstract Conceptualization, and Active Experimentation. These learning styles can be assessed by the Kolb Learning Style Inventory (2005). Nine distinct learning style patterns have been observed: experiencing, diverging, reflecting, assimilating, thinking, converging, acting, accommodating, and balancing. Every student learns differently.

Learning style definition - the preferential way in which the student absorbs, processes, comprehends and retains information

Individual learning styles depend on cognitive, emotional and environmental factors, as well as one’s prior experience.

Have you ever wondered why you do better in some classes than others? It may depend on your individual learning style. Your learning style influences the way you understand information and solve problems.


Authentic assessment vs Traditional assessment

Traditional assessment (TA) consists of pen and paper tests: true or false, matching type, multiple choice, essay exams. A growing trend, and a K-12 main component is its opposite--performance-based assessment under the authentic assessment (AA).

AA uses rubrics, rating scales or checklists as a student performs real-life tasks other than conceptual, theory-based learning that TA measures. Think of driving license exams, in order to get one, an applicant takes the written test and completes the requirement with a driving test. It is a great example of how these two types of assessment go together.

Authentic Assessment Tool Box by Jon Mueller

Mga Komento

Kilalang Mga Post